

Australian Acoustical Society

A.C.N. 000 712 658
NEW SOUTH WALES DIVISION

Minutes of the 39th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING NEW SOUTH WALES DIVISION

Minutes of the 39th Annual General Meeting of the NSW Division of the Australian Acoustical Society held on Tuesday 4th November 2009, 6:30pm National Acoustic Laboratory, 126 Greville Street Chatswood, NSW

- 1. Meeting Attendees:
- 1.1 NSW Divisional Committee members present:

Tracy Gowen, Neil Gross, Rodney Stevens, Larry Clark, Laura Allison, Gayle Greer

1.2 Apologies

Denzil Cabrerra ,Renzo Tonin, Ken Scannell

2. Opening of Meeting

The meeting was declared open by Chairman, Tracy Gowen

3. Proxies

6 proxies in total

4. Minutes of the 38th Annual General Meeting

Proposed accepted with no changes by Neil Gross.

Seconded by John Wassermann

- 5. Business
- 5.1 Chairman's Report

Marion Burgess noted that Canberra had held one technical talk regarding the Draft ACT Management Manual.

David Anderson noted that the informal Rail Noise Group had held 7 meetings. 4 of these meeting were Technical Talks.



Australian Acoustical Society

A.C.N. 000 712 658 NEW SOUTH WALES DIVISION

Membership has remained steady over the past year. Chairman, Tracey Gowen put a call out to standing member to encourage others in the acoustic community to join the Society.

Student awards had been organised for University students studying in the field of acoustics. The first of these awards had been presented at Sydney University by Laura Allison.

Chairman's report proposed accepted by Rodney Stevens.

Seconded by Sam Demasi.

5.2 Treasurer's/Registrars' Report

Treasurer's/Registrar's report distributed at the AGM by Rodney Stevens.

The NSW Division had not received any moneys from the Federal Treasurer since the last financial year.

Treasurer's/Registrar's report proposed accepted by Najah Ishac.

Seconded by Gayle Greer.

5.3 Appointment of Auditor and Remuneration

NSW Divisional Committee noted that the auditor had been late auditing the accounts in each of the last 3 years.

The federal council has requested that the NSW Division remain with the same auditor as this is the auditor the Federal Committee use.

The NSW Divisional Committee will appoint an auditor.

Proposed accepted by Najah Ishac.

Seconded by Sam Demasi.

6. Election of Officers for 2009/2010:

There were 5 available positions on the Committee.

Four existing members stood for election:- Laura Allison, Larry Clark, Tracy Gowen, Warwick Williams

One nomination:- Brian Marston (nominated by John Channon)



Australian Acoustical Society

A.C.N. 000 712 658 NEW SOUTH WALES DIVISION

All were accepted for the available positions with no need to vote.

7. General Business

Nil.

8. Meeting Close

Meeting closed at 7pm.

Gayle Greer

Secretary