Message from the NSW AAS Divisional Committee

Greetings from the new NSW Divisional Committee of the Australian Acoustical Society!

Towards the end of last year at the salubrious Glenmore Hotel the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the NSW Divisional Committee of the Australian Acoustical Society was held. The new elected NSW Divisional Committee as a result of the AGM is as follows:

John Wassermann Chairman

Tracy Gowen Vice-Chairman, Federal Chairman

Rodney Stevens
Angus Leslie
Matthew Harrison
Jeff Parnell

Treasurer
Secretary
Federal Councillor
Technical Subcom

Jeff Parnell Technical Subcommittee
Paul Maddock Technical Subcommittee
Laura Allison Technical Subcommittee
Mattia Tabacchi Technical Subcommittee
Tom Cockings Technical Subcommittee



The new Committee has a busy year planned with many exciting technical talks, culminating in the Annual Australian Acoustical Society Conference in the Hunter Valley in November.

Look out for the logo. A more detailed announcement for the conference will be provided shortly. However, in the meantime please put your mind to writing and presenting some topical papers!

With regard to the technical talks, our first AAS NSW technical meeting for 2015 will be on Thursday 12 February 2015. Throughout this year we will be trying some new venues, with this talk being at the Extension Room, Dougherty Community Centre, 7 Victor Street, Chatswood.

The talk will be conducted by Dr Simon Kean, Senior Environmental Specialist Noise and Vibration, Roads and Maritime Services. This presentation will be on RMS's new Noise Criteria Guideline and Noise Mitigation Guideline.

For more details go to:

http://wp.acoustics.asn.au/notices/nsw-technical-meeting-january-2015/

RSVP by Monday 9 February to Mattia Tabacchi (mattia.tabacchi@gmail.com).

The Committee is planning to conduct 6 Technical meetings through the year. Guest speakers have been organized for half of the meetings as such we are always looking for new interesting topics and new guest speakers. If you have any ideas please contact the organizing committee.

I look forward seeing you at our first technical meeting!

John Wassermann Chairman, AAS NSW Divisional Committee