

Australian Acoustical Society

Western Australian Division A.B.N. 28 000 712 658

TO ALL AAS MEMBERS and interested parties

NOTICE OF 2012 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The 40^h Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the WA Division of the Australian Acoustical Society will be held on **Wednesday the 31th October**, at the Oxford Hotel, 368 Oxford Street, **Leederville.**.

The AGM will commence at 5.30 pm, followed by social drinks at no cost to members.

The upcoming AGM draft agenda, minutes of the 39th AGM (2011), proxy and committee member nomination forms are included below. The audited accounts and chairperson's report will be presented and tabled at the meeting.

<u>Numbers may be limited.</u> To assist in our planning of the night, please advise Luke Zoontjens via 1.zoontjens@ndy.com as to attendance.

DRAFT AGENDA 2012 AGM

- 1. Opening of Annual General Meeting
- 2. Apologies and identification of Proxies
- 3. Minutes of the Previous AGM
- 4. Chairman's Report
- 5. Financial report and appointment of Auditor and Remuneration
- **Election of Divisional Committee Members**The following Divisional Committee members stand down at this meeting: Alec Duncan, Terrance McMinn, Ben Farrell, Norbert Gabriels
- 8. Other Business
- 9. Close of AGM

Voting Rights

Persons holding the grade of Fellow or Member have full voting rights, except they are not permitted to vote at the election of Associate, Subscriber or Student members to the Division Committee.

Persons holding the grade of Associate, Subscriber or Student may only (except as hereinafter provided) vote to elect note more than two of their numbers to the Division Committee. Associates, Subscribers or Student members serving on the Division Committee shall be entitled to vote at any General Meeting of the Society or their Division.

Votes may be submitted by Proxy and a Proxy Form is enclosed herewith. Please note the Conditions of lodgement. Persons must be financial at the time of the AGM.

Joining the WA AAS Committee

If you wish to nominate somebody for election to the Committee, please complete the attached Nomination Form and returned it to our Secretary. Nominations may also be made at the AGM.

AUSTRALIAN ACOUSTICAL SOCIETY WESTERN AUSTRALIAN DIVISION A.B.N. 28 000 712 658

MINUTES

39th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Held On Wednesday 31st August 2011 Perth Zoo - Conference Centre

The meeting was opened at 12:00 pm

1. Members Present

L Zoontjens (Chair) Jai Pan; A Duncan, Pamela Gunn; Neil Butt; Ben Farrell; Kingsley Hearne; Jingnan Guo; Peter Popoff-Asotoff; Alexander Gavrilov, John Macpherson; Murray Limb; Darryl McMahon; Ming-Huan Tsai; Eric Fry; Norbert Gabriels, Terrence McMinn; Binghui Li; Gareth Forbes; Helen Wu;

2. Apologies - Rebecca Donovan; Emma Bridgeman;

3. Minutes of the Previous Meeting

Copies of the minutes of the 2010 AGM were distributed.

Moved: P Gunn, Seconded: J Guo. Carried.

4. Chairman's Report

Luke Zontjens provided the chairman's report to the meeting. Significant issues included:

- o Successful state Conference last year
- o 3 Technical meetings and social events.
- o WA Division continues to offer travel grants to the AAS conference.
- The AAS Conference for 2012 is to be held in WA. Current focus of committee is planning for this major event.

Luke Zoontjens thanked the Committee for assistance throughout the year.

Moved: B.Farrell, Seconded: M Limb. Carried.

5. Financial report

The treasurer provided a report to the meeting: Account Balances as at 30-June 2010 were:

Opening Balance on 1st July 2010 was \$46,520.91 Total Income for the year was \$2,562.76 Total Expenditure for year was \$12,880.07

Closing Balance on 30 July 2011 \$36, 203.60

Increase in income due to interest earned from term deposits, \$1,071

Increase in expenditure due to:

\$5,000 deposit for conference venue \$2,500 in grants and awards

Moved: A.Duncan, Seconded: Carried. K Hearne

6. Election of Divisional Committee Members

The following Divisional Committee m	nembers stood down
Luke Zoontjens, Murray Limb; Kingsle	ey Hearne, R Donovan; A Gavrilov; N Butt

Persons nominated for election were: Luke Zoontjens, Kingsley Hearne, R Donovan; A Gavrilov; N Butt

There being no further nominations, the above members were declared elected

8. Other Business

As M Limb resigned from the committee A.Duncan thanked M Limb for his work on the committee over the past years.

No other Business

The meeting was closed at 12:15 pm.

Chairman: _	Date:
_	

NOMINATION FORM 2012
I ,of Grade of Grade
to stand for election as a Committee member for a two year period from November 2012.
The person I am nominating has agreed to stand for election.
SignedDate
PROXY FORM 2012
l, of
being a Fellow/Member of the Australian Acoustical Society, hereby
being a Fellow/Member of the Australian Acoustical Society, hereby
being a Fellow/Member of the Australian Acoustical Society, hereby appoint