

Australian Acoustical Society ACN.000712658

SOUTH AUSTRALIA DIVISION

SOUTH AUSTRALIAN DIVISION 36th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Tuesday 4 September 2011, 6:00pm

1 Open

Meeting opened by Carl Howard at 6:07 pm.

2 Present

Peter Heinze, Adrian Jones, Carl Howard, Jon Cooper, Peter Maddern, Laura Brooks, Neil Mackenzie, Jason Gaekwad, Yong Keat Lee, Bill Dawson, Colin Hansen, Darren Jurevicius.

3 Apologies

Simon Moore, Matthew Stead.

4 Call for Proxies

Nil

5 Minutes of 35th AGM

Accepted

6 Business Arising

Nil

7 Chair's Report

Carl Howard spoke to his report. Key points being;

- Carl's last meeting as Chair, as will be travelling to Christchurch for several months. Carl has been Chair since November 2007.
- The SA division will be holding the 2013 conference. Peter Heinze and Byron Martin are co-chairs of the conference organising committee.
- There have been three technical meetings and 4 committee meetings since last AGM.
- About 30 people attended the Christmas dinner, which was held at Red Ochre Grill on 9
 December 2011.
- A diner was held at Enzo's Ristorante on 14 June 2012 to honor the many years of contributions from Peter Teague and Byron Martin to the SA division, who left the state recently.

8 Treasurer's Report

Carl summarised Simon Moore's Treasure's report, and noted:

- Income for the year was \$6,362.04, and expenditure \$19,372.88, a net loss of \$13,010.84.
- Current total balance at 19 Jun 2012 of \$70,946.11.



Australian Acoustical Society A.C.N. 000 712 658

SOUTH AUSTRALIA DIVISION

 Main reason for the difference in income and expenses was the \$8,118.23 transfer to Federal for 15% of the profit from the 2009 SA Conference. Two dinners during the year (Christmas, and farewell to Peter and Byron) also contributed to the higher than last year's expenses.

9 Confirmation of Auditor

The auditor this year will again be appointed by the Federal Treasurer, Geoff Barnes.

10 Secretary Report

Darren arrived near the conclusion of the meeting. Carl spoke briefly on Darren's report, noting minimal external communication, and internal communication primarily around membership issues.

11 Registrar's Report

Carl Summarised Matthews membership report:

- Membership stands at 53 members, an increase on the 48 from last year.
- Three of the above members had not yet paid their subscriptions.

12 Election of Committee Members

No new nominations received and all previous committee members (with the exception of Carl Howard) re-elected.

Continuing members:

- Byron Martin
- Laura Brooks

Re-elected members:

- Colin Hansen
- Peter Heinze
- Matthew Stead
- Valeri Lenchine
- Simon Moore
- Darren Jurevicius
- Jon Cooper

Note that Peter Teague would have been a continuing member, but resigned from the committee due to his relocation interstate.

The positions of the elected committee members to be voted on and established at the first committee meeting following the AGM.

13 Other Business

No other business.

14 Closure

Meeting closed 6:15 pm.

Meeting followed by talk by Peter Heinze from Marshall Day. The talk was a summary of the new features of the soon to be released Insul Version 7 software.